Healthy Mind: The secret to forever-lasting relationships

Did you know that, according to Ethnologue, there are approximately 7,097 spoken languages in the world? That’s remarkable, but, according to me, there are five languages that overthrow all: the five LOVE languages! What are the love languages, you ask? They are the key to strengthening absolutely any relationship in your life.

The reality is, many relationships fail because we show our love in the wrong ways. Everyone has a different “love language” or a different way of feeling loved.  Before we get any further let’s understand each love language.

Here are the primary representations of love:

Words of Affirmation

For someone who feels most loved through “words of affirmation,” verbal encouragement, compassionate conversations and thoughtful compliments are most important.

Quality Time

If someone’s love language is “quality time,” they love receiving undivided attention. They feel most loved when they can share meaningful interactions and conversations with others. They appreciate when others find time in their busy lives to spend with them.


People who have “gifts” as their primary love language view presents as an act and visual symbol of love. Gifts show thought and meaning.

Acts of Service

Helping them cross things off their to-do list, doing tasks they have been putting off, and helping with chores that are causing them stress is the greatest way to show love to a person with the “acts of service” love language. For someone of this love language, actions speak louder than words.

Physical Touch

For those of this love language, a pat on the back, a hug, holding hands or any other sort of physical touch goes a long way. They feel most loved when there is physical contact.

Now that we understand each love language, it’s just a matter of discovering the primary love languages of the people you share relationships with so you can act accordingly. Equally important, however, is to know your own love language so that you can receive love the way you want! One love language tends to be more dominant than the others: this is called our primary love language. To figure out ones primary love language, there is an online quiz open to everyone!

I highly recommend taking the quiz to discover your primary love language and encouraging those around you to discover theirs. It’s time we strengthen our relationships once and for all with the five languages that overthrow all!

- Melissa xo

My name is Melissa Migueis and I am a student at Dawson College in the profile Cinema-Communications. I love to lead a healthy lifestyle by eating clean, being active and keeping a healthy mindset! Oh, and you can always find me somewhere in nature!

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.